Strawberry Shortcake Themed Cake

Strawberry Shortcake Cake

This year, when Lexi asked what kind of cake she wanted for her third birthday, she said cupcakes. While cupcakes are great, I really wanted to something a bit more challenging, so I decided to incorporate mini cupcakes in a Strawberry Shortcake cake. The cake itself is strawberry flavored (so it’s pink inside), and the top portion is covered in red fondant. The building is made of lemon sugar cookies, as are the leaves and flowers. The cafe patio is made of tinted white chocolate. It was pretty fun to make. I really enjoy doing buildings.

As an aside, when I was a kid, I had a Strawberry Shortcake cake for one of my birthdays. Strawberry Shortcake used to look shorter and a little plumper. She certainly didn’t run a cafe, which is apparently what she does now. And whatever happened to the Purple Pie Man? He was my favorite character. Times have changed…

7 Comments

  1. OMG- I want one! This is so creative Jo. Who would want to eat it? Have you thought about going into the Cake decorating contest on that TV realty show? And you are so right about Strawberry Shortcake, she must have lost all her “baby fat” or has not been eating properly-why to skinny and she looks like she has been out shopping, dressed up and all!!!??? I liked her better in the olden days!

    Laurie

  2. OMG Jo, what a beautiful creative cake.,I want one too! I also agree with you that Straberry Shortcake looks all grown up-in the olden days must have been the “Baby Fat” or else she has eating problems! And what’s with the shopping that she looks like she’s doing-unless getting supplies for the cafe! I liked her better in the good old days! I remember your 3′ strawberry short cake stuffed doll, did I buy that for you? or just want to take credit for being a good Auntie!

    Laurie

Leave a Reply

