Christmas Cake

What’s Christmas without a fruitcake?

Although there’s always more than enough sweets at our Christmas family get-togethers, I wanted to do my bit this year with a tree-inspired Christmas cake. I chose to make a more cakey version of a fruitcake that still has all the fruited goodness of the traditional cake, with a bit of a molasses twist. I then made a bit of a hot eggnog/butter/brandy sauce that I poured over the warm cake to soak in and add a little extra flavour. And instead of buttercream under the fondant, I decided to make an eggnog cream cheese icing – I wouldn’t use quite the same icing again though since it was a little soft. However, it managed to stand up relatively well under the fondant and it didn’t morph into a sticky, dripping mess. All the decorations were made from gumpaste and attached with royal icing.


Merry Christmas!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

