Greenitarian Soup

I haven’t been cooking many new things lately. I’ve been spending a lot of time working on pottery and sculpture. Ever since my trip to China, I’ve been meaning to try making some Chinese guardian lions. They seemed to be everywhere we went.

Despite spending most of my time working or playing with clay, I did create a new soup the other day. I call it greenitarian soup.  I started with an onion and olive oil, though if I had had leeks in my fridge, I would’ve used those instead. I  added two potatoes, two zucchini, and about 4 cups of veggie broth. Since I don’t have any veggie broth  made up, I used the cubed form of flavour. I found a brand (McCormick) that has no MSG, no artificial flavours, and very little sugar. All of the liquid broths at my local store have autolyzed yeast in them, and I’m supposed to stay away from yeast, so I was glad to find these cubes were yeast-free.

After those ingredients simmered for about 15 minutes, I added 1/2 cup of peas, the zest and juice from one lime, and about 1/4 cup of cilantro and let it simmer for another five minutes. Then I blended it all up for a smooth finished product.

The soup was like a blast of springtime in the midst of winter. The mellow green flavours of the vegetables were enhanced by the fresh lime and cilantro. All in all, a tasty and healthy soup.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

